ORAS PU Ox & Fox (Offense)

Acast

Ghost of a Forum Mod & PS Room Owner
is a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Battle Simulator Staff Alumnus

Introduction
First off, this is my first RMT so hello to the RMT forum. I'm relatively new to the PU metagame as I've only been playing it for a little over a month now. I'm certainly not an expert, but after building dozens of teams, playing on the ladder, and competing in a good number of tournaments, I think I have a basic understanding of the current metagame. This team seems to be the most successful one I've built so far, so I'm posting it here in the hopes of seeing how I can improve it and my teambuilding in general. It's an offensive team primarily built around Bouffalant. Hopefully you all like it!

The Team

Omega-Xis (Bouffalant) @ Assault Vest
Ability: Sap Sipper
EVs: 248 HP / 252 Atk / 8 SpD
Adamant Nature
- Return
- Earthquake
- Megahorn
- Pursuit

Afrobull is the primary Pokemon around which the team is built. I chose an Assault Vest set to capitalize on its very solid bulk and power without sacrificing the ability to switch moves, like a Choice Band would. Sap Sipper works well in combination with Relicanth's 4x weakness to Grass, hopefully giving Bouffalant the same boost that a Choice Band would provide if it switches in on a predicted Grass attack.

Return is preferred over Head Charge so that it won't be worn down by recoil. Earthquake and Megahorn are the best coverage moves at its disposal that also don't have recoil. Pursuit makes a great combo with Sap Sipper by letting Bouffalant switch in on any grass move and threaten the opponent out, doing some good damage as it switches.

scpinion (Ninetales) @ Leftovers
Ability: Flash Fire
EVs: 252 SpA / 4 SpD / 252 Spe
Timid Nature
IVs: 0 Atk
- Nasty Plot
- Fire Blast
- Energy Ball
- Substitute