Ipod Help (where to find + how to get mp4 video files onto my Ipod.

Now I know I aint the most liked or respected guy around here. But if you could open up your heart and help me, that would be really nice of you.
I'm new to mp3/mp4 etc's, so my knowledge of the inner workings is limited as you can guess.
I've had a 30Gb Ipod for over 7 months now, however I hardly use the thing and quickly got bored of it.
Now I've decided to give it to a family member (which I haven't seen for 7 years), who is less fortunate as me and doesn’t have a comp to put items on the Ipod by themselves. So before I hand over said Ipod, I'm going to fill it up with as much entertainment as possible.

Entertainment such as; Comedy / Music / Cartoons / Anime / Movies and possible over things that you guys could advise me to include.

Previously I used an online converter (I forget the name), which would convert files into Ipod format, such as little youtube 10min vids etc. Then once it was saved onto my desktop I would drag it into my Itunes, so the next time I connected my Ipod to my comp it would transfer over all new items added to Itunes.

What I need advice on:
  • 1. One of the main problems I had with my previous method, was that I couldn't get an entire episode of Avatar, Naruto etc onto my Ipod. I had to save sections, and watch them one at a time. This was due to my converter not being able to convert bigger files plus I used to get all my clips from Youtube as that’s the only process I'm aware of....

2. Another problem I had was if I deleted a file of Itunes, it was also delete it of my Ipod next time it automatically updated my Ipod. is that supposed to happen?

3. Also how can I save certain files into different folders so its easier to see what I have saved on my Itunes and Ipod. Because at the moment I have to search through my Ipod before I get to the music video I want to see. For instance, grouping Chris brown songs in one section